2022 AFC Championship Game Preview: Kansas City Chiefs vs Cincinnati Bengals

By Stephen Ur III –

The Kansas City Chiefs and Cincinnati Bengals will meet in the 2022 AFC Championship Game at GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium on Sunday evening. Kickoff is set for 6:40 p.m. ET. The game will be broadcasted on CBS and will also be streamed on Paramount+. 

This marks the second consecutive season these two teams will meet in the conference title game. The Bengals overcame a 21-3 halftime deficit to defeat the Chiefs in overtime 27-24.

This will also be the second time these two teams are meeting during the 2022-2023 season. Cincinnati defeated Kansas City 34-31 in Cincinnati in Week 13. The two teams also met twice last season – Week 17 and the AFC Championship Game.

Kansas City is hosting their fifth consecutive conference championship game, becoming just the third team since the 1970 merger to do so. The then Oakland Raiders hosted five consecutive AFC Championship games from 1973-1977 and the New England Patriots hosted eight consecutive AFC Championship games from 2011-2018.

Both teams are coming off Divisional Round wins in which they both scored 27 points. Kansas City defeated the Jacksonville Jaguars 27-20 while Cincinnati routed Josh Allen and the Buffalo Bills in western New York, 27-10.

Both the Chiefs and Bengals rank in the top 10 in passing offense, total offense, rushing defense and points scored per game. As well, both teams rank near the bottom of the league in passing defense, so Burrow and Patrick Mahomes could have big games on Sunday.

Both quarterbacks also had great regular seasons. Mahomes led the league with over 5,000 yards and 41 touchdown passes. Burrow tied with Allen for second in the league with 35 touchdown passes.

Cincinnati has two advantages over the Chiefs that could also play a factor in this game. The Bengals are sixth in points allowed while the Chiefs are the middle of the pack at 16th. They also control the turnover margin (plus-6 compared to minus-3).

With a win, the Chiefs will advance to their third Super Bowl in five years. They would be the first team to do so since the Patriots played in three consecutive Super B

owls from 2017-2019. As for the Bengals, a win would make them the first team to advance to back-to-back Super Bowls since the Chiefs played in Super Bowl LIV in 2020 and Super Bowl LV in 2021.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s